About us


Swadeshi Vijnana Andolana Karnataka (SVAK) is a vibrant non-profit science movement with a swadeshi spirit and intense concern for Bharatiya contributions to science. We passionately care about the continuation of India’s scientific heritage in its own languages and traditions. We revere our past and present scientists, technologists and educators and endeavor to foster a scientifically minded society, without losing touch with our past achievements.

Swadeshi Vijnana Andolana is the Karnataka unit of Vijnana Bharati, the biggest popular-cum-professional science movement of Bharata with the largest number of independent state units. SVAK is evolving into a model state unit, in terms of (a) its pan-Karnataka sweep with District Units throughout the State; (b) the large percentage of women as life members and office bearers, and (c) its comprehensive span of multi-faceted activities across several disciplines, led primarily by academic faculties.

Our dynamic movement not only celebrates “Swadeshi Sciences” like Ayurveda, Siddha, Yoga, Vaastu Vidya, etc., but also aims to nurture the enablement of all contemporary science disciplines in Indian languages, and in particular, Kannada. As a Swadeshi movement, it intends to adopt and adapt the best modern sciences for the welfare of the people and the environment.

SVAK started on September 15, 2004 on the birth anniversary of Sir. M. Visvesvaraya with 14 founder members. Presently we have over 25 district units and over 1000 life members from all parts of Karnataka. Our members come from different walks of life e.g. students, farmers and professionals from various disciplines. We benefit immensely from the membership of academic faculty members from various universities across Karnataka and the support and membership of university vice chancellors and directors of central govt. research organizations.

Current executive committee members

Prof. K. I. Vasu
Founder, Patron

Former Director, CSIR-CECRI- Karaikudi
Former Pro- Vice Chancellor, University of Cochin, Former Professor, IISc, Bengaluru

Capt. Ganesh Karnik

Ex Captain, Indian Army
Former MLC, Govt. of Karnataka


Dr. C. Renuka Prasad
Working President

Former Vice Chancellor
Karnataka Veterinary Animals & Fisheries Sciences, Bagalakote

Sri. Ramesha. H
Founder & General Secretary

Principal, G.N. V.V, Bengaluru


Dr. Y. K. Kotikal
Vice President

Director of Research
University of Horticultural Sciences, Bagalkote

Dr. A. M. Sudhakara

Former Head, university of Mysore computer center
Former director, CIST, Univ. of mysore

Dr. Niranjana Prabhu T
Associate Professor & Head
Dept of Chemistry
Ramaiah University of Applied Sciences, Bengaluru

Dr. Shubha V

Scientist Director Grade
National Aerospace Laboratories, Bengaluru

Dr. Y. S. Gayathri
Founder & Treasurer

Former Lecturer, Balaji PU College, Bengaluru


Sri. Govindaiah. H. K
Organizing Secretary

Lecturer in Physical Education
Seshadripuram Composite College, Bengaluru

Smt. M. N. Shylaja
Founder and Member

Retired faculty, MES College, Bengaluru

Dr. Umesh Rudrapatna
Member, Secretary Bengaluru Urban district

Scientist, Philips Healthcare, Bengaluru

Dr. V. Girish Kumar
Member, Coordinator Dhanvantari Vedike

Assistant Professor, TDU, Bengaluru

A list of our former presidents and founding members can be found here.

Our current district committee members and coordinators for various groups (Vedikes) and their contact details can be found here.