Kannada Vijnana Sammelana

The prime activity of SVAK is the annual conduct of Kannada Vijnana Sammelana (Karnataka Science Congress) to enrich Kannada for science communication, to popularize Vijnana among the common people, and to empower Karnataka with science, engineering and technology as developmental tools. These Kannada Vijnana Sammelanas are invariably held in Karnataka Universities / R & D Institutions and the focal theme is based on the interest of the host Institutions.

The Kannada Vijnana Sammelana is held annually on 15th September, the birth anniversary of Bharata Ratna Sir. Mokshagundam Visvesvaraya, a great visionary-engineer-statesman and the architect of modern Karnataka and the first to introduce the concept of “Swadeshi” in the country. It is also on this day in 2004 that Swadeshi Vijnana Andolana Karnataka was itself formed.

To commemorate these, SVAK honours eminent and erudite scholars of Karnataka in modern and traditional sciences with the prestigious Visvesvaraya Vijnana Puraskara. The receipients include Prof. C. N. R. Rao and Dr. Pandit Bhimsen Joshi, who themselves received the Bharata Ratna Awards from Govt. of India. We have already instituted the Bhimsen Joshi Samskritika Vijnana Puraskara from 2014 onwards and the CNR Rao Vijnana Puraskara from 2016 onwards in the field of Physicochemical, Biological and Materials Sciences.

 2019: 15th Sammelana, Davanagere University, Davanagere
 2018: 14th Sammelana, Bengaluru North University, Kolar
 2017: 13th Sammelana, Ramiah university of applied sciences, Bengaluru
 2016: 12th Sammelana,  Karnataka Veterinary Animal & Fisheries Sciences University, Bidar
2015: 11th Sammelana, Lakshmi Venkatesh Desai College (LVD), Raichur
2014: 10th Sammelana, University of Mysore
2013: 9th Sammelana, University of Horticultural Sciences & BVVSangha, Bagalakote
2012: 8th Sammelana, University of Agricultural Sciences, Dharwad
2011: 7th Sammelana, Kalburgi University
2010: 6th Sammelana, Veterinary College, KVAFSU(B), Bengaluru
2009: 5th Sammelana, Mangalore University
2008: 4th Sammelana, Visvesvaraya Technological University (VTU), Belgaum
2007: 3th Sammelana, Kuvempu University, Shankaraghatta, Shimoga
2006: 2nd Sammelana, Karnatak University, Dharwad
2005: 1st Sammelana, National Aerospace Laboratories, Bengaluru